top of page

What Goes Up, Must Come Down


(Image courtesy of "The Persuit of Sportiness")

I can't work out if my legs are broken or just severely abused. So far it's taken me 5 days since my last game to be able to actually put weight on them properly again. I waiver between the belief that I've pulled muscles to the belief that I have multiple stress fractures....

I've played a few games now and after every game I'm surprised I haven't fallen down dead. They have been so fast, the players so young and I haven't got the lung capacity to keep up with them. Not to mention that each game has given me a different facial injury....For some reason I think I'm great at heading the ball but instead nearly always manage to just get smashed in the face with it instead. So far i've perfected the cheek slam and the nasal punch header technique...

I played an amazing game on Sunday. I put in 120% effort and it showed. The captain, the coach, all of them told me how well I played. I nearly died, but I did well. It's been discovered (apparently), that I play generally quite well in a left or right midfield position. Sigh...this means running. I was hoping to avoid that.. It also means that I actually have to handle the ball a bit, which is funny since my natural instinct as soon as it comes to me is to get rid of it AS QUICKLY AS HUMANLY POSSIBLE.

But something came up this week...

I got cut from the higher grade team. Apparently they had some lady with super powers who was outstanding a few years back decided to join, and because she is super human and amazing, she couldn't possibly go into the lower division team. Since I was the last selection for the "top division" team it makes sense that I am first to go (not because of my lack of skill or anything bahahahaha)....I'm a bit peeved about it though. I think it's harsh given my committment and effort to the team, but maybe my rustiness, age and fitness had something to do with it? Maybe just a little bit ;-) . I feel disappointed but I also feel a bit of secret relief too..The pressure's finally off! I don't have to keep up with all the young fit things running around on the field, I can be the old fossil I feel like I am and just DO MY BEST. Instead of feeling that my best is simply not good enough. Also...I might not have to be a bench starter every game! Yippeee....So it is with sadness of leaving my team mates that I've formed bonds with, but lightness of pressure relief that I continue my journey to be the best soccer mum that I can be.

OH and hopefully with legs that aren't broken and a nose that sits straight...That is all.

bottom of page