top of page

Does anyone have a spare lung? Mine can be found on the ground where it got coughed up

I'm dead right? That searing sensation in my chest is from having a heart attack and the smell of dirt in my nose is from being buried? ..... Afraid not! Nope. That's just the feeling of this unfit Mumma having actually had to run. The smell? Well that's just the smell of the dirt from where I planted my oversized, extra padded dierriere in the dirt after falling in a tackle...at training none the less!

Now let's just fast forward through the last decade or so to now, 2 kids, a cadbury block of chocolate a week later, where the spare tyre hanging round my middle seems to have grown from Mini Cooper sized tyre to a Toyota Landcruiser size tyre and I guess by now you'll have a fairly accurate idea about where I sit on the fitness scale of things....If there was a minus 0...I'd be what it looks like!....A short wheel based Landcruiser hehehe (the short part is funny cause i'm only just over 5').

So I've been training for a few weeks now and my expectation would be that I'd start to feel a little fitter, a little bit lighter on my feet and a little more nimble. Sounds pretty fair doesn't it? Hahaha wrong! I seem to be the opposite. The more I train, the worse I feel, the clumsier and clod hopped (is that even a word?), I become. For example, tonight at training, I litterally honked as I ran. I kid you not! I was breathing so hard that my breath was making a honking sound on the way out! So off to the chemist I trotted, armed with the knowledge (and embarrassment), of knowing that it is not normal for people to honk when they run. Honk..puff puff...honk...Try explaining that one to a pharmacist who didn't know whether to put you on a nebuliser (just in case it was some sort of asthma attack), or roll around on the floor laughing! Anyway...I left armed with some ventolin to see if my honking is preventable...Will keep you posted on that one! Game day on Sunday! Yay...Go team!

Picture courtesy of mindysfitnessjourney.blogspot.com

bottom of page